Nominations and Submissions for 2019 ICIS Young Investigator Awards

Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate AND Post-Graduate Awards in Interferon & Cytokine Research The Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards are targeted to graduate students and post-doctoral fellows who have begun to make an impact in interferon and cytokine research. The Awards were originally designed to fill the gap among the awards offered by the ICIS to more senior investigators—the Milstein Young Investigator Award, the Christina Fleishmann Award, Honorary Membership, and The Seymour and Vivian Milstein Award. Candidates must be actively working in interferon/cytokine research but need not be ICIS members. Each award amounts to a $3500 cash award, $1500 travel grant, a $2500 PBL Assay Science product credit for each awardee, and a complementary one-year ICIS membership. These awards are sponsored by PBL Assay Science.

Milstein Young Investigator Awards: ICIS members who have received a Ph.D or M.D. within the previous 10 years are eligible for this Award. Every year up to five awards are granted to individuals (must be ICIS Members) who have made notable contributions to either basic or clinical research. These awards are $1,500 each, the funds provided by a generous gift of the Milstein Family as well as commemorative plaques.

The Christina Fleischmann Award to Young Women Investigators: The rules for this ICIS award are the same as for the Milstein Young Investigator Award (see above) except for gender and the candidate must have received a PhD or MD degree  within the previous 10 years. This award is made possible through the generosity of  the Fleischmann Foundation and is dedicated to the memory of ISICR member and outstanding interferon research scientist Christina Fleischmann. This award is open to young  women investigators working in the cytokine, chemokine and interferon biology. The award is $2,000 provided through a generous grant from the Fleischmann family, and a commemorative plaque.

Submission Deadlines:

1 June, 2019: All the Young Investigator Awards (Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards, Milstein Young Investigator Awards and Christina Fleischmann Awards), to be accompanied by a copy of the Abstract Submission from Cytokines 2019.

Your Name: *
Your email address: *
Name of the Young Investigator being Nominated or Self-Applying *
Please check off each type of award you wish your Nominee/Self to be nominated for: (this form is for one Young Investigator, the Nominee may be nominated for more then one of the following awards. In order to select multiple awards, you must Ctrl-Click (or Cmd-Click on Mac) items to add them. From the confirmation screen you can return to the home page to nominate additional individuals for awards. *
Cytokines 2019 Submitted Abstract with submission ID as downloaded from the online abstract submission site: Please include a pdf download of the abstract submission(s) associated with the Young Investigator Award Applicant (to include the Cytokines 2019 Abstract Submission ID) and upload it here. The Young Investigator award applicant/nominee must be 1st Author on the Cytokines 2019 abstract. *
An abbreviated CV (max. one page) together with a letter of recommendation detailing the accomplishments of the nominee (including confirmation of eligibility) should be uploaded here as a combined PDF document: *

Fields marked with * are required.

Your form submission WILL be encrypted using SSL to ensure your privacy.